Pt Orchard WA 98366-4687
360-337-7129 * Fax: 360-337-4645
Marriage Equality in Washington State
During the 2012 legislative session a bill was passed that enacts marriage for all couples
regardless of gender in Washington. After the bill passed, opponents filed a referendum against the measure.
Referendum 74 was filed and was certified by the Office of the Secretary of State. The issue was placed on the
General Election ballot. The measure passed and will go in to effect
on December 6, 2012.
Applying for a Marriage License
may apply for a marriage license in-person or by mail. Both
parties must sign the application before a deputy auditor
(or a notary public if the application is by mail). A
marriage license will be given to the parties upon receipt
of the completed marriage application
and fee. No appointment is necessary.
Kitsap County Auditor
Recording/Marriage License Department
619 Division St
Port Orchard, WA
Hours: Monday - Friday
Both applicants must be at least 18
years of age or older and must have a current photo ID
as proof of your age.
Applicants who are 17 years of age
must be accompanied by one parent or legal guardian who
Applicants under the age of 17 must
obtain consent of parent/legal guardian and waiver from
Juvenile Court is required to apply for a marriage
license. (Juvenile Court Phone: 360-337-5401)
Blood tests and physical exams are
not required to obtain a marriage license.
Applicants do not have to be
residents of the State of
Washington to obtain
a marriage license. The license is only valid for
weddings that are performed within the state of
Proof of divorce from a previous
spouse, or death of a spouse, is not required to obtain
a marriage license. It is the responsibility of the
applicant to ensure that the final decree of divorce is
filed before applying for a new marriage license.
There is a three (3) day waiting period
beginning the first day after you apply for your license and
ending the third day following the date of application. You
may not get married during this waiting period. The License
is valid for 60 days beginning on the 3rd day after
application and must be used in the State of
Witnesses are not necessary to apply
for a license, but state law requires that at least two
witnesses be present at the ceremony.
The fee to apply for a Marriage License is $64.00 cash,
check, debit or credit card. The fee is non-refundable.
$15 of the marriage license fee goes to fund
family services. These services include parenting classes, child
development activities, health and educational activities, family
support centers, and intervention services. $10 of the marriage
license fee goes to assist displaced homemakers.
State law prescribes who can perform a
marriage ceremony: active and retired Supreme Court
justices, Court of Appeals judges, Superior Court judges,
Superior Court commissioners, and judges of courts of
limited jurisdiction, as well as any regularly licensed or
ordained minister or priest of any church or religious
RCW 26.04.050 for a complete list.
Ministers from any state may perform
marriage ceremonies, but the ceremony must be performed in
the State of Washington. Neither
the bride nor the groom may perform the ceremony.
To have a county judge perform the
ceremony, contact District Court at: 360-337-7033
for more information.
All marriage records are a matter of
public record. The one exception to this is for those
enrolled in the
State's Address Confidentiality program. Once a license
has been recorded, it cannot be "unrecorded."
Copies of Marriage Licenses
Requests may be made in person or by
To request in person, please come to
the Kitsap County Auditor - Recording located at
619 Division Street, Port Orchard, WA 98366. Hours:
To request by mail, please click
here for a request form with mailing information.
Certified copies: $3 each, Photocopies: $1 each
view and print most forms on this website you must have the Adobe
Acrobat Reader installed. A free download is available at the