Concealed Pistol License
Firearms Dealers click here
For Alien Firearms Licenses click here
For CPL application click here
When do I need to have a Concealed Pistol License?
RCW 9.41.050 requires you to have a concealed pistol license when:
Where do I apply for a Concealed Pistol License?
If you live in the unincorporated area of Kitsap County you must apply in person at the Sheriff’s Office in Port Orchard or Silverdale. If you live in an incorporated city within the county, you must apply in person at either the city police department or Sheriff’s Office. Non-Washington residents may apply at any local law enforcement agency in Washington State. Our address is:
Kitsap County Sheriff’s Office –
Kitsap County Sheriff’s Office –
What are the application hours?
Application hours are 9:00-11:00 am and 1:30-3:30 pm weekdays, excluding holidays. The application process takes about 30 minutes. The application form can be downloaded here.
Is there a background check?
Yes. You will need to be fingerprinted and a criminal history background check will be conducted before your license is issued.
Are there other requirements?
Yes. The following requirements must be met:
How long does it take before I receive my license?
If you are applying for your first concealed pistol license, it may take up to 30 days to complete the background check before the license is issued. If you do not have a Washington driver’s license or identification card it can take up to 60 days.
What documents will I need to bring with me?
You will need to bring:
How long is my Concealed Pistol License valid?
Your concealed pistol license is valid for five years from the date your license is issued. You will not receive a renewal notice and it is your responsibility to ensure your license has not expired.
How do I renew my Concealed Pistol License?
If you live in Kitsap County, you may renew your concealed pistol license in person at the Sheriff's Office in Port Orchard or Silverdale during the hours of 9:00-11:00 am and 1:30-3:30 pm weekdays, excluding holidays. You may renew your license up to 90 days prior to the expiration date for a fee of $32.00, or up to 90 days after the expiration date for a late renewal fee of $42.00. You must provide picture identification and your current concealed pistol license. After 90 days you will be required to apply for an original license with a fee of $52.50. Effective February 2, 2015, this fee goes down to $50.75
What if I lose my concealed pistol license?
If you live in Kitsap County, and your license has been lost, stolen or destroyed, you may obtain a replacement license. You will need to apply in person at the Sheriff's Office in Port Orchard or Silverdale during the hours of 9:00-11:00 am and 1:30-3:30 pm weekdays, excluding holidays. The fee for a replacement license is $10.00
Does Washington have reciprocity for Concealed Pistol Licenses with any other states?
Washington has reciprocity or accepts concealed pistol licenses issued by a number of other states, so long as the handgun is carried in accordance with Washington law. The Washington State Attorney General's web site provides a list of those states that have reciprocity with Washington for concealed pistol licenses.
For more information about firearms law:
If you would like to obtain more information pertaining to state firearms law, call the Department of Licensing in Olympia at (360) 664-6616. You may also write to:
Department of Licensing
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF)
For additional information, please select this link www.atf.gov.
January 26, 2015
Chief of Support Services
Concealed Pistol Licenses and Fingerprinting hours are from 09:00am to 11:00am and from 1:30pm to 3:30pm, Monday through Friday at the Port Orchard and Silverdale Offices.