Kitsap County Ferry Advisory Committees


Washington State Ferries committees were established in the early 1960s by the Marine Division of Washington State Ferries to promote improvements in the ferry system through interaction with Washington State Ferries, the Transportation Commission and the State Legislature.

Information on Washington State Ferries is at

Applications are open to serve on the Kitsap Ferry Advisory Committees. There is currently a vancancy on the Bainbridge Island group. To apply, fill out the online application here.

For more information, contact Kitsap County Volunteer Services at 360-337-4650 or .

Meeting Times and Locations

Bainbridge Island Ferry Advisory Committee - Meeting times and locations vary. Next meeting 7 p.m. Monday, Oct. 21, upstairs cafeteria section at Town & Country Market, 343 Winslow Way E, Bainbridge Island.

Kingston Ferry Advisory Committee - Meets at 6:30 p.m. the second Monday of every month, Village Green Community Center, 26159 Dulay Road, Kingston. NO MEETING IN JULY 2019.

Bremerton Ferry Advisory Committee - Meets at 6:40-8 p.m. the first Wednesday of each month in the third-floor conference room of Kitsap Transit, 200 S. Charleston Blvd., Bremerton.

Southworth Ferry Advisory Committee - Meets from 9-10 a.m. the third Sunday of each month at Whiskey Gulch CoffeePub, 2065 Bay Street, Port Orchard.


Kitsap County Ferries Advisory committees represent terminals in Bainbridge Island, Kingston Bremerton and Southworth.

Appointments are made by regions, with Kitsap County members appointed as follows: Bainbridge Island (District 1 Commissioner); Bremerton (District 2 Commissioner); Kingston (District 1 Commissioner); Southworth (District 2 Commissioner). 

On July 10, 2001, the Kitsap Regional Coordinating Council (KRCC) confirmed a recommendation by the KRCC Transportation Policy Committee increasing the Kitsap County Ferries Advisory committees to five members.  The additional members were authorized to collect input from ferry riders and keep them informed on issues related to ferry service, and conduct public meetings with the Washington State Ferries on terminal issues related to quality of services and scheduling. The committees were further authorized to represent ferry riders to the KRCC, which coordinates and presents the concerns of all Kitsap ferry riders to Washington State Ferries and the State Legislature on issues affecting funding or allocation of regional transportation.

 Kitsap County Ferry Advisory Committees

​ ​Bainbridge Island


​Term Ends

​Jennifer Cannon​8/31/21
Torin Larsen​8/31/21
​Anthony Smallbeck​8/31/21
​Houston Wade​8/31/20

Meeting Notes/Agendas



​ ​Bremerton

​Member​Term Ends
​Benjamin Oaksmith8/31/22
​Linda Houlton​8/31/20
​Adam Brockus​8/31/21
​DeDe Theal​8/31/22
​Judy-Rae Karlsen​8/31/22


Meeting Notes/Agendas


WSDOT Long-Range Plan summaries







​Member​Term Ends
​Rex Carlaw​8/31/20
​Gillian Clark​8/31/22
Walter Elliott​8/31/21
Matthew Ogard​8/31/22
​Laura Schmucker​8/31/22


Meeting Notes/Agendas





​ ​Southworth

​Member​Term Ends
​Tim O'Mahony​8/31/20
Robert Walls​8/31/21
Daniel O'Shaughnessy​8/31/20
​Paul Wheeler​8/31/20

Megan Hammock

Meeting Notes/Agendas