Solid Waste Advisory Committee (SWAC)

The Solid Waste Advisory Committee guides local solid waste programs and policies. 

Washington State law asks each county to set up a local Solid Waste Advisory Committee (SWAC). The committee reviews the county's Comprehensive Solid and Hazardous Waste Management Plan and helps develop programs and policies for solid waste handling and disposal. Visit Recycle.Kitsap.Gov to learn about our programs.

The committee elects a Chairperson and Vice Chairperson at the beginning of each year to govern the committee. The Chair conducts all meetings, acts as a liaison between the committee and the county Solid Waste Division, sets the agenda, and arranges for prompt presentations. County staff support the SWAC by scheduling, advertising, and recording meetings; mailing materials to members; and keeping necessary records.

Mission Statement: The Solid Waste Advisory Committee (SWAC) assists in the development and implementation of the Solid Waste Management Plan. The committee reviews and comments upon proposed rules, policies, and ordinances related to solid waste handling and disposal prior to adoption.

The public is welcome to attend the committee's regularly scheduled meeting.

Meetings are confirmed two weeks in advance. Email to inquire.

Date: First Wednesday of even months (subject to change)

Time: 4 p.m.

Location: City of Bremerton Utilities Building, 100 Oyster Bay Avenue, Bremerton

Current committee members

The committee has fifteen members who represent many interests, including the Board of County Commissioners, local jurisdictions, tribes, the U.S. Navy, local business, and the waste management industry.

Updated March 2023

​Stephanie Bailey, Chair

​City of Port Orchard

Krisha Begalla

Central Commissioner District​

​Douglas Chamberlain

​North Commissioner District

​Eric Lenius

​South Commissioner District

​Diane Landry

​City of Bainbridge Island

​Melinda Monroe

Wayne Hamilton (alternate)

​City of Bremerton

​Shannon Wood

​City of Poulsbo

Josh Carter

Sam Phillips (alternate)

​Port Gamble S'Klallam Tribe

​Jaime Lawrence

​Suquamish Tribe

​Les Hastings


​Heather Church

Dave Stanley (alternate)

​Industry (Bainbridge Disposal)

​Robert Hall

​Industry (Waste Management)

Bill Rich

​Commercial Representative

​Erika Anderson


​Jeff West

Stephanie Miller (alternate)

​Organics Management