​Title 26 (Domestic  Relations)

Guardians ad Litem

RCW 26.12.175 is the Washington law that governs appointment of guardians ad litem in domestic relations proceedings.  RCW 26.12.175(1)(a) provides that, "The court may appoint a guardian ad litem to represent the interests of a minor or dependent child when the court believes the appointment of a guardian ad litem is necessary to protect the best interests of the child in any proceedings under this chapter."  The role of the guardian ad litem is to investigate and report factual information to the court concerning parenting arrangements of the child and to represent the child's best interests.  

All guardians ad litem appointed under this title must comply with training requirements set out by Washington law.  Kitsap County Superior Court complies with applicable laws for maintaining a registry of qualified guardians ad litem including annual review of qualifications.  A notebook of all approved guardians ad litem, their qualifications and background information is maintained in the Kitsap County Superior Court Office located in Room 210 of the Kitsap County Courthouse.  

If a guardian ad litem is needed in domestic relations proceedings, a "strike-list" of three names from the rotation of guardians ad litem is provided.  It is the responsibility of the parties seeking appointment of the guardian ad litem to review the qualifications and background of each of the three proposed guardians ad litem.  Each party may, within 3 judicial days, strike one name from the list.  If more than one name remains on the list, the court shall make the appointment from the names on the list.  In the event all three names are stricken the person whose name appears next on the registry shall be appointed.  All orders must be initialed by an appropriate Superior Court staff member prior to presentation to a judge.

To comply with HIPPA requirements, all requests for GAL fees paid under KCLGALR 5 must include an Order re Guardian ad Litem Fees that may be downloaded in Word or Adobe PDF format.

 
Current Registry Guardians ad Litem.  To view profiles, click on the name (requires Adobe Reader)
 

 

Karan Bergstrom
(Private Pay Only)
PO Box 68
Port orchard WA 98366
karan_bergstrom@yahoo.com
360-633-5696
Boni Cherelle
2916 NW Bucklin Hill Rd #475
Silverdale WA 98383
bcherelle@yahoo.com
360-930-4145
Mark Derricott
​755 Winslow Way E, Suite 207
Bainbridge Island WA 98110
mark@charlieshane.com
206-823-9910
Anastacia Fedina
(Private Pay Only)
PO Box 4821
Federal Way WA 98063
akfedina.gal@gmail.com
253-298-2379
Lynn K. Fleischbein
(Contact Prior to Appointment)
(Private Pay Only)
3212 NW Byron Street Ste 106
Silverdale WA 98383
lkf@lmflaw.com
360-692-4000
​Jaye Greene
(Private Pay Only)
​PO Box 452
Seabeck WA  98380
jaye.greene@outlook.com
360-620-9689
John Groseclose
1155 Bethel Ave
Port Orchard WA 98366
john@gsjoneslaw.com
360-876-9221
Mary Heino
(Contact Prior to Appointment)
(Private Pay Only)
PO Box 2115
Poulsbo WA 98383
mary.heino@gmail.com
360-649-8953
​Constance Hosannah
5631 Tacoma Mall Blvd, Suite 1
Tacoma WA 89405
Constance@dshlg.com
253-476-5977
Desiree Hosannah​
5631 Tacoma Mall Blvd, Suite 1
Tacoma WA 89405
Desiree@dshlg.com
253-476-5977
Vernon O. Hosannah

5631 Tacoma Mall Blvd, Suite 1
Tacoma WA 89405
Vernon@dshlg.com
253-476-5977
​Julia Jensine
(Private Pay Only)
​600 Winslow Way E, Suite 232
Bainbridge Island WA 98110
eagleharborcounseling@gmail.com
425-478-1000
​Steven L. Olsen
(Private Pay Only)
1050 NE Hostmark Street Ste 200
Poulsbo WA  98370
steve@olsenmcfadden.com
206-780-0240
​Deirdre Prince
​PO Box 1263
Silverdale WA 98383
deirdre.m.prince@gmail.com
360-509-3136
Julia Smith
​PMB #152
2916 NW Bucklin Hill Rd
Silverdale WA  98383
julia.smith.gal@gmail.com
360-233-6385
​Kerry Steven
​PO Box 4545
South Colby WA 98384
SLO@wavecable.com
360-269-2947

Nancy Tarbell

PO Box 840
Manchester WA 98353
nancy@tarbelllaw.com
360-871-2794
​Martha Wakenshaw
(Private Pay Only)
​600 Winslow Way East, Ste. 231
Bainbridge Island WA  98110
mwknshw@aol.com
425-478-8515
Amanda A. Williamson
​409 Pacific Ave Ste 303
Bremerton WA  98337
awilliamson@kitsap.lawyer
360-627-8026
Trisha A. Wyant
PO Box 286
Port Orchard WA  98366
trishw.gal.casa@gmail.com
253-234-7940