​Title 26 (Domestic  Relations)

Guardians ad Litem

RCW 26.12.175 is the Washington law that governs appointment of guardians ad litem in domestic relations proceedings.  RCW 26.12.175(1)(a) provides that, "The court may appoint a guardian ad litem to represent the interests of a minor or dependent child when the court believes the appointment of a guardian ad litem is necessary to protect the best interests of the child in any proceedings under this chapter."  The role of the guardian ad litem is to investigate and report factual information to the court concerning parenting arrangements of the child and to represent the child's best interests.  

All guardians ad litem appointed under this title must comply with training requirements set out by Washington law.  Kitsap County Superior Court complies with applicable laws for maintaining a registry of qualified guardians ad litem including annual review of qualifications.  A notebook of all approved guardians ad litem, their qualifications and background information is maintained in the Kitsap County Superior Court Office located in Room 210 of the Kitsap County Courthouse.  

If a guardian ad litem is needed in domestic relations proceedings, a "strike-list" of three names from the rotation of guardians ad litem is provided.  It is the responsibility of the parties seeking appointment of the guardian ad litem to review the qualifications and background of each of the three proposed guardians ad litem.  Each party may, within 3 judicial days, strike one name from the list.  If more than one name remains on the list, the court shall make the appointment from the names on the list.  In the event all three names are stricken the person whose name appears next on the registry shall be appointed.  All orders must be initialed by an appropriate Superior Court staff member prior to presentation to a judge.

To comply with HIPPA requirements, all requests for GAL fees paid under KCLGALR 5 must include an Order re Guardian ad Litem Fees that may be downloaded in Word or Adobe PDF format.

 
Current Registry Guardians ad Litem.  To view profiles, click on the name (requires Adobe Reader)
 

 

Jennifer Anderson
(Private Pay Only)
110 Prefontaine Pl S Ste 206
Seattle WA 98104
jenny@aysattorneys.com
206-728-2244
Karan Bergstrom
(Private Pay Only)
PO Box 68
Port orchard WA 98366
karan_bergstrom@yahoo.com
360-633-5696
Stacy Bronson
(Private Pay Only)
PO Box 668
Fox Island WA 98333
slbronson@comcast.net
253-549-2726
Dr. Philip Brown
(Private Pay Only)
​793 Ericksen Ave Ste 123
Bainbridge Island WA 98110
bcft1@msn.com
206-780-1036
Boni Cherelle2916 NW Bucklin Hill Rd #475
Silverdale WA 98383
bcherelle@yahoo.com
360-930-4145
Lauren Cole21072 Nordby Drive NW
Poulsbo WA 98370
lmcole.gal@gmail.com
360-286-6901
Anastacia FedinaPO Box 4821
Federal Way WA 98063
akfedina@gmail.com
253-298-2379
Cadine Ferguson-Brown​PO Box 1015
Tracyton WA 98393
gal@fblawgroup.net
360-614-9524
Lynn K. Fleischbein
(Private Pay Only)
​9226 Bayshore Dr NW Ste 210
Silverdale WA 98383
lkf@lmflaw.com
360-692-4000
Annalee Foster​PO Box 11134
Bainbridge Island WA 98110
annalee.foster.esq@gmail.com
206-485-3855
John Groseclose1155 Bethel Ave
Port Orchard WA 98366
john@gsjoneslaw.com
360-876-9221
Mary Heino
(Contact Prior to Appointment)
PO Box 1964
Silverdale WA 98383
mary.heino@gmail.com
360-649-8953
Desiree S. Hosannah​7403 Lakewood Drive W Ste 5
Lakewood WA 98488
desiree@dshlg.com
253-476-5977
Angela Lindsay​372 Tremont St W
Port Orchard WA 98366
angela@lindsaylawoffice.com
360-876-7601
Dr. J. Scott Menard​PO Box 5266
Bremerton WA 98312
drscottmenard@gmail.com
360-509-2709
Tanya Michaels​3965 Bethel Rd SE
Ste 1 - PMB 246
Port Orchard WA 98366
tanyam@centurytel.net
253-858-9339
Steven L. Olsen​216 Erickson Ave NE
Bainbridge Island WA 98110
steve@olsenmcfadden.com
206-780-0240
​Deirdre Prince​PO Box 1263
Silverdale WA 98383
deirdre.m.prince@gmail.com
360-509-3136
​Charles W. StevensonPO Box 4233
South Colby WA 98384
cwstevenson.gal@gmail.com
360-981-1440
​Nancy Tarbell​PO Box 840
Manchester WA 98353
ntarbell@wavecable.com
360-871-2794
Philip B. Wade​PO Box 5714
Bremerton WA 98312
philip@pbwlawfirm.com
360-373-8526
Martha WakenshawPO Box 4632
Rollingbay WA 98061
mwknshw@aol.com
425-478-8515
​Margo Waldroup​3501 NW Lowell St #201
Silverdale WA 98383
margow@tscnet.com
206-454-9971
​Amanda A. Williamson​409 Pacific Ave Ste 301
Bremerton WA 98337
awilliamson@kitsap.lawyer
360-627-8026