Candidates and Measures

Read the 2020 Kitsap County Candidate and Measures Guidelines book to get many of your questions answered about running for office, or ask for a printed copy at the Kitsap County Auditor's Office - Elections Division, 619 Division Street, Port Orchard, WA 98366. Much of the information in the guidelines book will be useful as you plan your campaign. Work on the 2021 version has begun and should be ready by March.

Learn about the Public Disclosure Requirements. Most candidates are required to file financial documents with the Public Disclosure Commission.

Deadlines for Districts Considering Ballot Measures

Districts placing measures on future ballots must meet the following deadlines for filing resolutions with the Kitsap County Auditor's Office - Elections Division.

2021 Election Dates Deadline for Resolution Ballots Mailed By
​February 9, 2021 Special Election
​December 11, 2020
​January 22, 2021
​April 27, 2021 Special Election
​February 26, 2021
​April 9, 2021
​August 3, 2021 Primary ​May 14, 2021
​July 16, 2021
​November 2, 2021 General Election ​August 3, 2021
​October 15, 2021

Validation: Some measures must meet a "supermajority" to pass. This page provides the number of votes from each district from the General Election of 2020, the number districts use to calculate whether their measures pass in 2021.     

2021 Offices and Positions Open for Filing 

Obtaining Voter Data and Election Results.

Information that may be useful to candidates and campaigns.        

Lot Draw 

RCW 29A.36.131 specifies that the order of candidates on the Primary ballot is determined by lot draw. At 4:30 p.m. on the Friday of filing week, the Kitsap County Auditor's Office - Elections Division draws lettered tiles to create the ballot order for races.
Here's the video of how the ballot lot draw went in 2020. This ballot order was for county races and Legislative District 23. Ballot order for Legislative Districts 26 and 35 was completed by the Secretary of State's Office.


2021 Candidate Filing Dates

May 3 - First day candidate filings can be received by mail.

May 17-21 - Filing Week

May 24 - Deadline to withdraw

TBD - Special filing period for races with no candidates after May 24.

July 15 - Last day candidates can file for free to be a write in candidates. 

July 16-August 3 - Candidates can file for Primary races, but must be regular filing fee for the office.