The Auditor's Office is temporarily closed to the public, except by appointment. Marriage License Appointments are limited. You may receive faster service using online and mail. If you believe you must come into the office, Please Schedule an Appointment Here.
Application: Couples start the application process for a marriage license online. Use this checklist to make sure you have everything ready! The application (find forms below) is completed either in person or by mail. Both parties must sign the application before a deputy auditor (or notary public if the application is by mail). A marriage license will be issued to the parties upon receipt of the completed marriage application and $72.00 fee. You must wait 3 days after the license is issued to get married. A marriage license is valid from 3 days after the license is issued for 60 days in the State of Washington.
Performing the Ceremony: State law dictates who can perform a marriage ceremony. Typically it is an active or retired judge, or ordained minister. There is a complete list of who may solemnize from the Revised Code of Washington 26.04.050. Ministers from any state may perform marriage ceremonies, but the ceremony must be performed in the State of Washington. Neither of the applicants may perform the ceremony. To have a Kitsap County Judge perform the ceremony, contact the
Kitsap County District Court at (360) 337-7033 for more information.
Witnesses: Witnesses are not necessary to apply for a license. State law requires that at least two witnesses be present at the ceremony.
Divorces and Domestic Partnerships: No blood tests, witnesses, birth certificates or divorce decrees is required to apply for a marriage license in Kitsap County. If either party was previously married, or has a registered domestic partner, he/she needs to meet the requirements of the state in which he/she was divorced or registered. Divorces obtained in Kitsap County must be finalized and filed with the Clerk’s office before application for marriage can be made.
Online Marriage Application: For fast and efficient service, complete this online form and visit us at the Kitsap County Auditor's Office to make it all official. If you are unable to visit us in person, first complete the online application, then complete the printable marriage application PDF (1 page, 12 KB). This paper application must be notarized and
mailed to us along with the $72 payment and a phone number with instructions where to return the Certificate of Marriage.
Affidavit of Correction of Marriage Certificate: The State Department of Health can assist you in correcting errors on records..
Marriage Consent Form: This
PDF (1 page, 27 KB) is for applicants 17 years of age or younger.
Marriage License Fees: This will help you to know the prices for getting a marriage license, certified copies, or duplicates.
All marriage records are a matter of public record. The one exception is for those enrolled in Washington State's
Address Confidentiality program. Once an applicaitonor certificate is recorded, it cannot be "unrecorded." If you need copies of your marriage certificate, visit us in person or mail your copy request form to the
Kitsap County Auditor's Office.