​Kitsap County Area Agency on Aging Advisory Council

ADVISORY COUNCIL FUNCTION/PURPOSE

Pursuant to the Older Americans Act, Public Law 89-73, as amended, the Area Agency on Aging is required to create an advisory council, with a majority of members age 60 or over.

The Council is required to advise the agency in the development and implementation of the Area Plan for aging services funded through Kitsap County; conduct public hearings; represent the interests of older persons; and review and comment on all community policies, programs and actions which affect older persons.

The council is made up of 11 unpaid volunteers, appointed by the Board of County Commissioners, for three-year terms. Representation is sought from all areas of the county, diverse ethnic groups and low-income seniors. 

Applications are currently open for vacancies on the council. Click here to complete the application.


​District 1 ​Name ​Term Ends ​Term #
​Position 1Shawn Gibbs
12/31/2021​​1
​Position 2 Steven McMurdo12/31/2021 ​1
​Position 3Barbara Paul​12/31/2021​1
​District 2 ​ ​ ​
​Position 1 ​Michaelene Manion ​12/31/2021 ​4
​Position 2 Van Court, Mari (Chair)    ​12/31/2020 ​2
​Position 3 Richard Larkin ​12/31/2021 ​1
​District 3 ​ ​ ​
​Position 1 Alfred Pinkham
(Vice Chair)
​12/31/2021 ​4
Position 2VACANT
​Position 3 Jean Schanen ​12/31/2021 1      
​At-Large
​At-Large​Karol Stevens​12/31/2021​1
​At-Large​Charmaine Scott​12/31/2021​1

Nominating Committee:

Mari Van Court,  Al Pinkham

Executive Committee:

Mari Van Court,  Al Pinkham

      

​Meeting Times
Meetings are generally held on the third Wednesday of every month.

Location
Please refer to Agenda for meeting location.

2020 Meeting Agenda

Wednesday, January 15 canceled
Wednesday, February 19
Wednesday, March 18
Wednesday, April 15
Wednesday, May 20
Wednesday, June 17
Wednesday, July 15
Wednesday, August 19
Wednesday, September 16
Wednesday, October 21
Wednesday, November 18
Wednesday, December 16

Subscribe to electronic notifications
Application for appointment


Previous Year
2019


Contact Us
Stacey Smith,
Program Administrator
360-337-5624 or 1-800-562-6418
sasmith@co.kitsap.wa.us